Rangpur Riders Team Squad 2017

Rangpur Riders 2017 Squad Players List

Rangpur Riders Team Squad

Rangpur Riders Player List 2017

Rangpur Riders BPL 2017 team squad players list is placed here. Mashrafe Mortaza is expected to lead the Riders squad which will also have a fine mix of domestic and overseas players in the line-up.

Rangpur Riders Players to Watch: Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Rashid Khan, Brendon McCullum, Ravi Bopara, Lasith Malinga

Among those from Bangladesh are Sohag Gazi and Rubel Hossain while the local batting line-up will have Shahriar Nafees as one of the more experienced players.

One of the biggest sign-ups for this season of the tournament was Brendon McCullum, who was expected to feature in the Global League T20 but that tournament was cancelled.

Ravi Bopara, who has converted himself into one of the better T20 players in the world these days, will be the side’s all-rounder along with David Willey even as Thisara Perera looks to continue showing the kind of form that was on display during the Pakistan-World XI match-up.

Samuel Badree, Johnson Charles and Kusal Perera are some of the other foreign players who made it to the Rangpur Riders 2017 squad. Rangpur Riders player squad BPL 2017 is placed below.

Rangpur Riders Squad 2017

Player Country
Chris Gayle West Indies
Brendon McCullum New Zealand
Adam Lyth England
Shamsur Rahman Bangladesh
Shahriar Nafees Bangladesh
Sam Hain England
Fazle Mahmud Bangladesh
Ravi Bopara England
Thisara Perera Sri Lanka
David Willey England
Samiullah Shenwari Afghanistan
Ziaur Rahman Bangladesh
Nahidul Islam Bangladesh
Mohammad Mithun Bangladesh
Johnson Charles West Indies
Kusal Perera Sri Lanka
Pace Bowlers
Mashrafe Mortaza Bangladesh
Lasith Malinga Sri Lanka
Rubel Hossain Bangladesh
Ebadat Hossain Bangladesh
Spin Bowlers
Sohag Gazi Bangladesh
Abdur Razzak Bangladesh
Elias Sunny Bangladesh
Samuel Badree West Indies
Nazmul Islam Opu Bangladesh
Zahir Khan Afghanistan

History of Rangpur Riders

Representing the pride of one of the oldest municipalities in Bangladesh, Rangpur Riders will be playing in their third edition of the Bangladesh Premier League this year. Even though the team was founded back in 2012, they didn’t play their first tournament until the very next year. Let us take a look at their journey so far this season.

In their debut in 2013, the Riders finished the group stage at the fifth place in the league. With only five wins out of the possible 12, they had a highly erratic spell in the mid-season, comprising of four back to back defeats. They could have made the cut, had it not been for their poor head to head record against the fourth placed Duronto Rajshahi.

In the 2015 edition, they finished at the third place in the league table, courtesy of seven wins in their campaign. Their performance was a lot more consistent this time around. However, like the many, Rangpur Riders too fumbled at the finish line. In the qualifier match, they faced Comilla Victorians, to whom they lost by 72 runs. They had another chance to qualify in the eliminator against Barisal Bulls, but there too they lost by five wickets.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment