Rajshahi Kings Team Squad 2017

Rajshahi Kings 2017 Squad Player List

Rajshahi Kings Team 2017

Rajshahi Kings Team 2017 for BPL 5

Rajshahi Kings players list is placed here. Rajshahi Kings are undoubtedly one of the most consistent teams in the Bangladesh Premier League, as they look forward to maintaining their momentum in the 2017 season too.

Rajshahi Kings Players to Watch: Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Lendl Simmons, Malcolm Waller, Luke Wright, Samit Patel

This season of the Bangladesh Premier League will see the Rajshahi Kings being led by Mushfiqur Rahim, Bangladesh’s captain in the longer format of the game. What they will hope for is the rest of the domestic players stand up when it really matters during crunch games.

Mominul Haque, Rony Talukdar and Hossain Ali are some of those who will support their biggest buy of the season – Mustafizur Rahman. Rahman, or Fizz, as he is popularly known, will lead their fast bowling attack and could well be the bowler to watch out.

West Indian opener Lendl Simmons has signed up for Rajshahi Kings after having played for Rangpur Riders two seasons ago. Simmons had also turned out for the Mumbai Indians in this 2017 Indian Premier League.

Among overseas players, Lendl Simmons and Luke Wright form a strong opening partnership, while Darren Sammy continues to add that all-round leadership on the field. Samit Patel, Mohammad Sami and Kesrick Williams will all be a part of the line-up as well. Rajshahi kings 2017 squad players list is placed below.

Rajshahi Kings Squad 2017

Player Country
Mominul Haque Bangladesh
Lendl Simmons West Indies
Darren Sammy (C) West Indies
Luke Wright England
James Franklin New Zealand
Samit Patel England
Malcolm Waller Zimbabwe
Farhad Reza Bangladesh
Raza Ali Dar Pakistan
Qazi Onik Bangladesh
Mushfiqur Rahim (VC) Bangladesh
Rony Talukdar Bangladesh
Zakir Hasan Bangladesh
Pace Bowlers
Mustafizur Rahman Bangladesh
Mohammad Sami Pakistan
Kesrick Williams West Indies
Delwar Hossain Bangladesh
Hossain Ali Bangladesh
Spin Bowlers
Mehidy Hasan Miraz Bangladesh
Naeem Islam Jr. Bangladesh
Nihaduzzaman Bangladesh
Usama Mir Pakistan

History of Rajshahi Kings

The Rajshahi Kings are coming off an excellent Bangladesh Premier League season in which they made the final of the BPL 2016.

After finishing fourth in the league table of the last season, they beat the Chittagong Vikings by three wickets in the first Eliminator before edging out the Khulna Titans.

In the final, however, they went down to the champion Dhaka Dynamites to lift the trophy.

Just like Khulna Titans, the Kings too had undergone a complete change in the team management and ownership before the previous season. Having missed out on the 2015 edition of the league, they added that intrigue value to their presence in the competition.

The franchise had put their faith in the West Indies all rounder Darren Sammy, to lead the charge on the field last season and his presence was one of the more morale-boosting one. Another interesting buy was the Pakistani seamer Mohammad Sami, who is unarguably one of the fastest bowlers in the world.

The batting attack too, had been in able hands last year with Upul Tharanga and the rising Bangladeshi batsmen Sabbir Rahman being a part of the roster.

In the very first edition of the league, the Rajshahi Kings (then known as Duronto Rajshahi) finished at the first place in the league table with 14 points from their 10 matches. With a success rate of 70 percent, they looked formidable as their sailed in the semifinal. However, despite putting a target of 185 runs against their rivals Barisal Bulls there, they lost the game by eight wickets.

In the 2013 edition, their form plummeted as they finished at the fourth place. This time, they won only five matches out of their possible 12, and also lost to Chittagong Kings by four wickets in the playoffs. This is quite surprising, since they needed just 109 runs to reach the final.


0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment