Dhaka Dynamites Team Squad 2017

Dhaka Dynamites 2017 Squad Player List

Dhaka Dynamites team

Dhaka Dynamites Squad 2017 & Players List

Dhaka Dynamites team 2017 for BPL 5 2017 is placed here. Dhaka Dynamites are a team who are worthy of their name. Not only are they one of the most intimidating sides in the Bangladesh Premier League (courtesy of their spectacular squad), but also the history that they have in the tournament certainly makes them one of the favourite ones.

Dhaka Dynamites Players to Watch: Shakib Al Hasan, Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle, Mohammad Amir, Kieron Pollard

Representing the capital of Bangladesh, they have done an excellent job in entertaining the fans in the city. The management of the team has certainly thought through the changes needed to the side. The side will be captained by the most iconic Bangladeshi player – Shakib al Hasan, who is unarguably the man to lead the side.

To list their overseas players, Kumar Sangakkara will continue to remain with the side and if his his form in the County Cricket is anything to go by, he will be the man to watch out.

Mahela Jayawardene has been dropped but the overs department has some big T20 names in their line-up. Kevon Cooper, who had recently led his Trinbago Knight Riders to a win in the CPL, Sunil Narine, one of the top T20 bowlers of the world, Pakistan enigma Shahid Afridi, all-rounder Shane Watson and Pakistan speedster Mohammad Amir are all a part of the Dhaka Dynamites 2017 squad. Shane Watson however is ruled out for this year’s season due to an injury. Kieron Pollard comes in as his replacement.

Interestingly, with the Global League T20 now having been postponed, Kieron Pollard, who was expected to lead the Bloem City Blazers, will now play for the Dhaka Dynamites this season.

Where the Dynamites might fall short is in the domestic department as they look for support for the captain Shakib. Can the likes of Abu Hider Rony, Akeal Hosein, Shadman Islam and Mehedi Maruf prop up the side? Dhaka Dynamites team squad for BPL 5 is placed below.

Dhaka Dynamites Players 2017

Players Country
Evin Lewis West Indies
Joe Denly England
Rovman Powell West Indies
Nadif Chowdhury Bangladesh
Cameron Delport South Africa
Mehedi Maruf Bangladesh
Shadman Islam Bangladesh
Shakib Al Hasan Bangladesh
Mosaddek Hossain Saikat Bangladesh
Shahid Afridi Pakistan
Kieron Pollard West Indies
Asela Gunaratne Sri Lanka
Kumar Sangakara Sri Lanka
Niroshan Dickwella Sri Lanka
Jahurul Islam
Pace Bowlers
Mohammad Amir Pakistan
Abu Hider Rony Bangladesh
Mohammad Shahid Bangladesh
Kevon Cooper West Indies
Ronsford Beaton West Indies
Shaheen Afridi Pakistan
Noor Alam Saddam Bangladesh
Khaled Ahmed Bangladesh
Spin Bowlers
Saqlain Sajib Bangladesh
Sunil Narine West Indies
Adil Rashid England
Akeal Hosein West Indies

History of Dhaka Dynamites

When the tournament was launched back in 2012, Dhaka finished at the third place in the league.

The Dynamites (then Gladiators) went into the semifinal and defeated Khulna Royal Bengals by 9 runs. They built on that success and won the final too, by defeating Barisal Burners by eight wickets.

Having won the maiden edition of the tournament, they managed to successfully defend their title in the next season. In fact, it was a far more daunting performance by them, as they finished the league at the top place with 18 points. In the play offs, they defeated Sylhet Royals by four runs, and proceeded to defeat Chittagong Kings by 43 runs to lift the title for the second consecutive time.

In the edition before, they finished at the fourth place in the table. Perhaps, it wasn’t meant to be a hat-trick for them, as they lost to Barisal Bulls in the playoffs by 18 runs. However, they came back strongly in the 2016-17 season with a title win as they beat Rajshahi Kings by 56 runs to wrap up the trophy.


0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment