Comilla Victorians Team Squad 2017

Comilla Victorians 2017 Squad Players List

Comilla Victorians Team 2017

Comilla Victorians Player list for BPL 5 2017

Comilla Victorians 2017 squad for BPL T20 is placed here. Comilla Victorians, who have won the Bangladesh Premier League title once before this, will be playing in their third edition, having made history by winning the competition in their first attempt ever.

Comilla Victorians Players to Watch: Tamim Iqbal, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Nabi, Jos Buttler

This time around, they will look to emulate their success of the 2015-16 season when they had stormed into the final before edging out the Barisal Bulls to clinch the trophy. And in order to help them do that is Tamim Iqbal, their icon player and most likely their captain.

Tamim did suffer an injury in the recent tour of South Africa, so it remaining to be seen how well they go about their business in case of his absence. Helping Tamim is his Bangladesh partner Imrul Kayes.

Enamul Haque joins the duo at the top of the order while overseas recruits like Shoaib Malik and Marlon Samuels should be shoo-ins to the playing XI.

The biggest selection coup for the Victorians was the drafting in of Rashid Khan, the 19-year-old Bangladeshi leg-spinner who has also been rated so highly that he will feature in the Big Bash League. Comilla Victorians 2017 BPL list of players is placed below.

Comilla Victorians Team 2017

Player Country
Tamim Iqbal Bangladesh
Imrul Kayes Bangladesh
Raqibul Hasan Bangladesh
Marlon Samuels West Indies
Colin Munro Australia
Darren Bravo West Indies
Fakhar Zaman Pakistan
Dwayne Bravo West Indies
Shoaib Malik Pakistan
Angelo Mathews Sri Lanka
Mohammad Nabi Afghanistan
Solomon Mire Zimbabwe
Mohammad Saifuddin Bangladesh
Alok Kapali Bangladesh
Mohammad Enamul Bangladesh
Mahedi Hasan Bangladesh
Jos Buttler England
Liton Das Bangladesh
Pace Bowlers
Al-Amin Hossain Bangladesh
Mehedi Hasan Rana Bangladesh
Hasan Ali Pakistan
Rumman Raees Pakistan
Faheem Ashraf Pakistan
Imran Khan Pakistan
Spin Bowlers
Arafat Sunny Bangladesh
Rashid Khan Afghanistan
Graeme Cremer Zimbabwe

History of Comilla Victorians

The defending champions are second of the two sides to be representing the Chittagong state. In the 2015-16 season they won seven of their 10 league matches with an impressive net run rate of +0.788. Needless to mention, they finished at the top of the table.

In the playoffs, they first faced Rangpur Riders. Batting first, they put up a target of 164 runs, to which the Riders responded with 91 for 10 wickets. After such a massive win in the semifinal, they sailed to the final, where they faced Barisal Bulls. This match was a lot more intense than the previous one.

The Victorians were highly disciplined in their bowling, as they restricted the Bulls to a humble target of 156 runs for 4 wickets. In the second innings, they put up a strong fight with the last over of the game proving to be the deciding point. With 11 needed from the last over, they pulled the win under pressure and were crowned as the champions.

One interesting feature about this team is the fact that the local talent have proven themselves to be far more valuable to the side. Imrul Kayes and Liton Kumar Das have been retained from the previous season, along with the Jamaican all rounder Marlon Samuels. Moreover, Pakistani all-rounder Imad Wasim and the English cricketer Ashar Zaidi too will be playing this year for the Victorians itself which makes them strong enough to take on the rest of the sides this season.

However, their second season fell flat as they crashed to a sixth position out of seven teams, having registered only five wins from 12 games. Can they overcome that poor previous season and go the distance in the 2017-18 edition?


0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment