Chittagong Vikings Team Squad 2017

Chittagong Vikings 2017 Squad Player List

Chittagong Vikings Team Squad

Chittagong Vikings Players List 2017

Chittagong Vikings 2017 team squad players list is placed here. Representing the pride of Southern Bangladesh are Chittagong Vikings, who will be playing in their fifth season of the iconic Bangladesh Premier League. The tournament is set to start next month, and the Vikings at the moment appear to be a formidable side, at least on paper.

Chittagong Vikings Players to Watch: Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed

This season of the Bangladesh Premier League will see Soumya Sarkar lead the way for the team but the big question-mark is around the selection of their overseas players.

Liam Dawson, Yasir Arafat, Luke Ronchi and Jeevan Mendis are all decent players in their own right but do they have the firepower to destroy the opposition like some of the specialist T20 cricketers from around the world?

What the Vikings will now need if they want to at least emulate their last season’s performance is for the locals like Taskin Ahmed and Anamul Haque to step and perform to the best of their abilities.

Some of the others who will represent the Vikings are Misbah-ul-Haq, Jermaine Blackwood, Sikandar Raza and Najibullah Zadran. Chittagong Vikings player list for BPL T20 2017 is placed below.

Chittagong Vikings Squad 2017

Player Country
Soumya Sarkar Bangladesh
Misbah-ul-Haq Pakistan
Dilshan Munaweera Sri Lanka
Najibullah Zadran Afghanistan
Stiaan van Zyl South Africa
Jermaine Blackwood West Indies
Luis Reece England
Jeevan Mendis Sri Lanka
Sikandar Raza Zimbabwe
Liam Dawson England
Alauddin Babu Bangladesh
Al-Amin Jr. Bangladesh
Luke Ronchi New Zealand
Anamul Haque Bangladesh
Irfan Sukkur Bangladesh
Pace Bowlers
Taskin Ahmed Bangladesh
Subashis Roy Bangladesh
Yasir Arafat Mishu Bangladesh
Spin Bowlers
Suhrawadi Shuvo Bangladesh
Sanjamul Islam Bangladesh
Tanbir Hayder Bangladesh
Nayeem Hasan Bangladesh

History of Chittagong Vikings

Considering their form over the last few editions, they aren’t among the most consistent side in the league. In the very first edition of the league back in 2012, they finished at the fifth place in the table with 10 points. Even though they shared the same number points with two other sides, their slightly lesser net run rate let them down.

The next season witnessed a drastic turnaround in their form, as the side managed to qualify for the playoffs by finishing at the third place with 12 points. Having finished at the third place, they initially faced Duronto Rajshahi in the playoffs, whom they defeated by four wickets. They next moved on to defeat Sylhet Royals by three wickets in order to get a ticket to the final.

Despite keeping a consistent play till then, the Chittagong Vikings (then Kings) lost to Dhaka Gladiators by 43 runs in the final. In the recent most edition of the league, they finished at the bottom place in the table with just two wins in their 10 games.

Owing to that severe drop in form, a lot of changes were made to the roster last season. Some of the big names from the T20 world – Chris Gayle and Dwayne Smith were signed for this season.

In addition to him, New Zealand all rounder Grant Elliott too was picked up, who will be play side by side with the likes of Shoaib Malik and Tamim Iqbal, who will be leading the side. And that helped them finish in the top four of the points table, but they lost in the Eliminator and were knocked out of the tournament. Chittagong Vikings jersey and merchandise can be purchased here.

Chittagong Vikings have certainly invested well in their overseas players. Now it will be intriguing to see if these lads can deliver and take the Vikings to their maiden championship trophy.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment