Bangladesh Premier League 2017 Squads

BPL 2017 Teams Player List

bpl cricket 2017BPL 2017 team player list is placed here. The 2017-18 edition of the Bangladesh Premier League will see a total of seven teams participating in the tournament. The latest BPL 2017 team squad can be found below.

Till last season there were seven teams which featured in the BPL and Sylhet was added to the tournament for this edition. But not too long after that, Barisal Bulls were suspended from the competition because of payment reasons and the tournament is back to seven sides.

The season before last, i.e. the 2015 edition of the Bangladesh Premier League had seen six teams take part in the competition.

Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings, Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, Barisal Bulls & Sylhet Super Stars were those sides. Then the Super Stars were suspended from the 2016-17 season because of what has been revealed to be disciplinary reasons. Added to the roster for the 2016 season were Khulna Titans & Rajshahi Kings, two new teams which makes the total count up to seven. Bangladesh Premier League 2017 squad is placed below.

Bangladesh Premier League Teams and Players

The seven Bangladesh Premier League 2017 teams are:

Teams BPL Teams Squad players list
Sylhet Sixers Sabbir Rahman (Icon), Babar Azam, Chaturanga de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Nabil Samad, Ghulam Mudassar, Mohammad Sharif, Imtiaz Hossain, Sharifullah, Krishmar Santokie, Usman Khan, Barry McCarthy, Andre Fletcher, Davy Jacobs, Liam Plunkett, Ross Whiteley, Wanidu Hasaranga, Taijul Islam, Abul Hasan, Shuvagata Hom, Kamrul Islam Rabbi.
Rangpur Riders Mashrafe bin Mortaza (Icon), Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Nazmul Islam, David Willey, Abdur Razzak, Ravi Bopara, Thisara Perera, Samuel Badree, Shahriar Nafees, Zahir Khan, Fazle Mahmud, Kusal Perera, Sohag Gazi, Adam Lyth, Nahidul Islam, Samiullah Shenwari, Ebadat Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Johnson Charles, Elias Sunny, Sam Hain, Lasith Malinga, Brendon McCullum
Khulna Titans Mahmudullah (Icon), Chris Lynn (injured), Carlos Brathwaite, Muktar Ali, Abu Jayed, Shehan Jayasuriya, Imran Ali, Benny Howell, Shafiul Islam, Jofra Chioke Archer, Afif Hossain, Dhiman Ghosh, Chadwick Walton, Shadab Khan, Yasir Ali, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dawid Malan, Junaid Khan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Kyle Abbott, Saif Hassan, Rilee Rossouw, Mosharraf Hossain, Ariful Haque
Dhaka Dynamites Shakib Al Hasan (Icon), Kieron Pollard, Abu Hider Rony, Akeal Hosein, Ronsford Beaton, Graeme Cremer, Kevon Cooper, Mohammad Shahid, Sunil Narine, Nadif Chowdhury, Shadman Islam, Kumar Sangakkara, Noor Hossain, Joe Denly, Shaheen Afradi, Shahid Afridi, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Amir, Evin Lewis, Khaled Ahmed, Mehedi Maruf, Jahurul Islam, Cameron Delport, Saqlain Sajib
Rajshahi Kings Mushfiqur Rahim (Icon), Nihaduzzaman, Raza Ali Dar, Usama Mir, Lendl Simmons, Luke Wright, Darren Sammy, Malcolm Waller, James Franklin, Mustafizur Rahman, Naeem Islam jnr, Hossain Ali, Zakir Hasan, Samit Patel, Farhad Reza, Rony Talukdar, Kazi Anik, Kesrick Williams, Mohammad Sami, Mominul Haque
Chittagong Vikings Soumya Sarkar (Icon), Sunzamul Islam,Yasir Arafat, Naeem Hasan, Alauddin Babu, Jermaine Blackwood, Tanbir Hayder, Misbah-ul-Haq, Najibullah Zadran, Liam Dawson, Taskin Ahmed, Sikandar Raza, Subashis Roy, Luke Ronchi, Al-Amin, Irfan Sukkur, Luis Reece, Anamul Haque, Jeevan Mendis
Comilla Victorians Tamim Iqbal (Icon), Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Saifuddin, Imran Khan jnr, Imrul Kayes, Alok Kapali, Hasan Ali, Solomon Mire, Enamul Haque, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Raqibul Hasan, Marlon Samuels, Darren Bravo, Fahim Ashraf , Rumman Raees, Mehedy Hasan, Mohammad Nabi, Liton Das, Arafat Sunny, Jos Buttler, Al-Amin Hossain, Rashid Khan

Here’s more on the seven Bangladesh Premier League teams that played in the 2016-17 season of the tournament. Once the squads for the 2017-18 season of the Bangladesh Premier League are ready, we will have more information on them as well.

Comilla Victorians: The Comilla Victorians is a side based in Comilla and is skippered by the Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza. It was founded in the 2015 season when they played their first ever competition and not only did they finish on the top of the points table during the league stage but also went on to win the title by winning their two playoffs games. They will start as the defending champions and favourites to win the title again.

Chittagong Vikings: Chittagong Vikings are another side which is based in Chittagong and while they were founded in 2012, they needed to be rebranded in 2015. However, that rebranding exercise did not seem to have done too much for the side’s fortunes as they fell to the last spot in the BPL 2015 points table, winning just two of their 10 games. With players like Chris Gayle and Dwayne Smith added to their line-up this season it does look like they will have a much better chance of qualifying for the playoffs.

Dhaka Dynamites: The Dhaka Dynamites, as the name suggests is a BPL team based in the capital city of Bangladesh in Dhaka. They play their home games in the Shere-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur and were lucky to scrape through to the playoffs stage last season by finishing fourth. They had eight points from their 10 games, just two more than the fifth-placed side. Shakib al Hasan has been roped into the side and will hope he can push the team to an even better finish than the fourth place they finished in 2015.

Rangpur Riders: The Rangpur Riders, a Rangpur-based BPL franchisee, did not feature in the opening edition of the tournament but became the seventh side to play in both 2013 and 2015. They will be playing in their third season after having finished third in the previous year. Having made the playoffs, they made the playoffs but crashed out of the tournament after losing both those games they featured in. Can they better their third-placed finish without the presence of any real big names except Shahid Afridi?

Barisal Bulls: The Barisal Bulls made it to the final of the previous season of the competition but went down to the eventual winners Comilla Victorians in the final. This Barisal-based franchisee in the BPL was earlier called the Barisal Burners before they were rebranded as the Bulls and will hope the likes of Mushfiqur Rahim and Carlos Brathwaite can guide them to their first title in the tournament.

Khulna Titans: Earlier called the Khulna Royal Bengals, they had their name changed to the Titans for this season of the tournament after having missed the previous editions. What they will want is for them to get the better of their opponents under the captaincy of Mahmudullah Riyad and coach Stuart Law, but the duo will need help from some of the overseas players like Nicholas Pooran, Kevon Cooper and Ben Laughlin, all of whom have been brought into the squad.

Rajshahi Kings: Rajshahi-based franchise Rajshahi Kings have been included in their first ever season of the Bangladesh Premier League and will want to create an impression. Sabbir Rahman will lead the side in this tournament while former West Indian captain Darren Sammy will be a part of the side as well and help their cause. The Kings will also need to look at their local talent to guide them through the tricky initial part of the tournament where a new team can get exposed in a competitive tournament like the Bangladesh Premier League.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment