Bangladesh Premier League BPL 2017

BPL Cricket to feature Seven Teams after Barisal Ban

bpl cricket 2016The fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League, which is being sponsored by BRB and hence is called the BRB BPL T20 will be played this year in Bangladesh. A total of seven teams will participate in this competition this season with 46 matches to be played in the tournament.

BPL 2017 is expected to begin from November 4. The BPL Draft took place on the September 16 and the team squads for all teams are decided.

Eight teams were expected to feature in the tournament with Sylhet (besides Dhaka and Chittagong) returning to the fold as well but Barisal have now been banned because of payment issues.

The 2017 edition of the Bangladesh Premier League will not see eight teams participate in the competition as was the plan earlier. This was after the Barisal Bulls were suspended from the competition for non-payment of dues.

According to reports, the Bulls were shown the door after they did not pay their appearance fee that needed to be paid by all the teams. A deadline of August 7 had been given to the side to clear their dues but having failed to have done that, the BPL governing council has taken a decision to show them the door.

Afzalur Rahman Sinha, the BPL Governing Council Chairman, said:

“We have decided to strip them [franchise Barisal Bulls] from the upcoming edition of BPL. They failed to put up any kind of franchise fee required to take part in the tournament,”

He added:

“During the last board meeting we had given them August 7 as deadline for submitting their dues but as they failed to do so, we have to take this decision. We have to prepare the fixture for the next edition while we have to take other preparation as well. So we decided to host the upcoming BPL with seven teams.”

The top-placed team faces the fourth-placed side in one semi-final and the other will have the second and third-positioned sides feature in the last-four stage. The winners of these two games will advance to the final.

The 2017 BPL players draft took place on September 16 allowing up to 5 foreign players in the playing XI. During the BPL Draft, a team can buy 13 domestic cricketers, of which two can be overseas players.

The competition begins on November 4 with the defending champions Dhaka Dynamites taking on Surma Sixers Sylhet.

What happened in the 2016 BPL

Dhaka Dynamites beat Rajshahi Kings to clinch 2016 BPL title. Last year, six new franchises had replaced the old ones after the issues with corruption and there were two more which were added for this edition of the tournament.

One franchise was then excluded from the competition due to disciplinary reasons following which the seven teams participated last year. The seven teams in the tournament were Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings, Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, Barisal Bulls, Khulna Titans & Rajshahi Kings.

The 2016 BPL draft took place in September and 85 players were brought in during the draft. This was in addition to the 38 foreign players the teams were allowed to sign apart from retaining two ‘home-grown’ cricketers from the previous year.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board had set up the BPL in 2012 as a T20 league on the lines of some of the other such tournaments around the world. The competition had to be suspended for a year because of issues with corruption but it is now back and with a bang, allowing some of the top players from around the globe to participate in the tournament.

2017 Bangladesh Premier League Venues:

Three stadiums will be used for this fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League. These include the Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong, Shere Bangla in Mirpur and Sylhet International Stadium in Sylhet.

Get all the information on the BPL 5 squads, tickets, teams, broadcasting, schedule, fixtures & live streaming during the tournament on this site.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment